1 reply to this topic

#1 nikki_kiki

nikki_kiki

• New User
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 January 2010 - 12:28 PM

Hello All

I'm a forum newbie and am engaged to be married in April of 2011 about. I joined this forum mainly for the question I'm about to ask but I love forums and I'm sure I'll have lots more fun with it.
I have a small issue with my partner's religious beliefs and our wedding.
When we met one of the first things we actually talked about is our different religions. I'm Muslim (not practicing) and he's Christian (not really practacing). I really don't follow any of the muslim beliefs but just say that I am for the respect of my parents. Where my fiancee likes to call himself very Christian. Mind you he doesn't go to church or follow any other Christian ways. But when he was younger he used to be into a lot of bad things and he says god saved his life and he's put all that behind.
We have a gorgeous 13 month old girl and things have been okay with her and religion. She hasn't been christened or anything like that which I didn't want. I believe that we shouldn't bring her up either way, when she's old enough she'll chose for herself.
My partner has had a friend for many years who is a pastor and he wants for this man to marry us. It's all fine with me cause I don't believe it all but I don't want the whole ceramony to be about God and I don't want bible readings etc etc. My family would freak. But I'm too scared to tell my mum and dad incase they end up not talking to me. The wedding will NOT be in Church which I'm happy about but I am happy for his pastor friend to marry us but concentrate on talking about the love union between a couple not between the couple and god etc.
I asked him about this and he said that these are his beliefs and that if the pastor can't marry us then he doesn't wanna get married.
What can I do? I feel like I don't want to disrespect my future husband but then I don't want to disrespect my whole family.

#2 Puggie

Puggie